Wind direction on runway

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 IW11

IW11
  • Registered
  • 248 posts

Posted 04 November 2011 - 08:03 AM

I've been simming for many years but I've never really been able to get a handle on the wind direction before I land. I'm mainly refering to smaller airfields without ATIS. On many fields the socks do work but I can rarely see them from circuit height and using Shift+Z will provide wind data where the aircraft is but that usually changes by the time I'm down to the runway. I know there are some fields with no socks & no atis, just like real life, so I'm happy to take my luck on those but whenever possible I like to know where the runway wind is and still keep with the reality theme. Zooming over the sock(s) at a few feet isn't very realisticPosted Image Posted Image Posted Image . How do you guys do it?

Ian

#2 aussiecop

aussiecop
  • Nemeth Design Staff
  • 3,894 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 01:30 AM

In RW flying I listen to the wind direction from the AWOS on the radio frequency.
Posted ImagePosted Image

-The beatings will continue until morale improves

#3 TerribleT

TerribleT
  • OZx Scenery Tester
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 10:09 AM

Down to circuit height for airstrip 10nm out if poss, then shift+z to see the wind direction and strength, pick runway and then start advisory calls Posted Image Works most of the time, but not always - if not take a crosswind or tailwind approach if within specs for aircraft - makes a nice change Posted Image - otherwise just change selected runway and recommence advisories Posted Image

Here's to ya, Terry - FSX Acceleration, REX HD OD, W7 HP 64bit SP1, Intel i5 760 OC 3.6 GHz, 16GB DDR3 1660Mhz, Gigabyte P55A-UDP4P, BenQ G2420HD, Nvidia 2GB GeForce GTX760, Samsung 233GB SSD, WD 279GB SCSI, 2x1TB Samsungs SATA
ZREHD.gif

#4 IW11

IW11
  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 248 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 11:05 AM